TLC India

Mangaluru: CFAL students shine in JEE, Navaneesha among toppers in state

For the third consecutive year, a student from Centre For Advanced Learning (CFAL) has topped the city in the Joint Entrance Examination (JEE) main and is among the toppers in the state.

Addressing the media here on Tuesday, May 1, CFAL principal Severine Rosario said, “CFAL student Navaneesha has scored 303 out of 360 marks and has the top score in the city and is the among the toppers of Karnataka. Sixteen students have scored marks above 150 which is considered as a top score in this exam.

“For three consecutive years, CFAL students have been toppers in Mangaluru in JEE main exams. Considering the difficulty of this examination, this is a remarkable achievement. Dhanush in 2016, Aditya Upadhaya in 2017 and Navaneesh in 2018 are the toppers. Majority of students studying in CFAL have qualified to appear JEE advanced 2018. Consistent mentoring, individual attention and a strong foundation in STEM subjects has contributed to these phenomenal results,” she said.

As many as 10,74,339 students appeared for the JEE main 2018 examination on April 8, April 15 and 16. The Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), National Institute of Technology (NIT) as well as other institutions of repute at the national level are hubs of academic excellence attracting the brightest students from all over India, said Severine.

“All this is possible because of the concept based learning and they have lot of options now. We help the students achieve their goals who aspire to become future scientists,” she said.

“CFAL has made lot of difference in me. The learning at CFAL is very unique and helps us understand the concept. At any moment, the teachers are very encouraging to clear doubts,” said Navaneesha.

CFAL cordinator Vijay Moras and students were present.

Selected students with marks:

Navaneesha – 303

Shreesha G Bhat – 278

Anvith M – 231

Krishna Swaroop – 227

Praneeth Nayak – 222

Sharaj K – 215

Prathyush Poduval – 204

Prajna Hebbar – 192

Tanmay – 197

Subham Mohopatra – 184

Ashwin Nair – 182

Rashmi B Kasangeri – 182

Suraj S – 166

Unnathi Nayak – 161

Ajay K P – 158

Sourabh Yelluru – 150